I wake-up in my morning & evening sanctuary, that is my bedroom, to glimpses of beauty, truth, motivation, life and love captured through a 35mm lens. This is one of the many pictures hanging in my room.

This morning my heart was full with gratitude as I turned over and saw this picture hanging on one of the old Homeplace doors laid against one of the walls in my room. This door is the home of icons & pictures that serve as doors opening out to God and to spiritual realities, opening me to the stillness of my own heart where God wants to speak to me.  The door and images have become a place where grace and human need meet daily.

I needed to meet grace this morning, revel in it for awhile. The week has been full of  intense conversations which have left me exhausted spiritually & mentally, unsettled, weary and uncertain about some things. Coldplay’s line, “Nobody said it was easy,” has been on constant repeat in my mind as I have shared with God and those closest to me my wrestlings, right next to words written by Dietrich Bonhoeffer in the Cost of Discipleship. There have been moments where I have felt as though I was barely hanging on, brief, yet very real.

My eyes opened this morning to Meredith carrying on her back one of the children we were in community with in Swaziland. This was not the first time I have prayerfully looked at this image, listening for a word from God and I am sure it will not be the last. However, this morning I heard something I had not heard before.

This morning I heard Christ saying ever so gently and gracefully, “Hey Lanecia, be still. I got you kid. Remember I got you always.”

As a deer longs for flowing streams, so my soul longs for you, O God…. Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you disquieted within me? Hope in God; for I shall again praise him, my help and my God. Psalm 42:1 & 11

