So, I have been hesitant to blog my thoughts, feelings and ever changing emotions regarding one of the open wounds of Nashville, the relocation conversations & actions for the Tent City community. As one sitting along the sidelines, who is neither from the Tent City or Antioch community, I have chosen to be slow to speak and to do more listening seeking to understand what is festering in the depths of this wound.

Below is a link to a blog written by a woman who is apart of the Tent City community.

I suggest you not only read the blog entry, but also the comments.

There are many words shared that resonate deeply with my heart and understanding of the Gospel.

There are also some words, shared by all, that leave me wondering if there is another way we- people of faith in Jesus Christ- can move people towards beloved community, justice and the understanding of how much we really need each other? One of the comment conversations left me once again in awe of the profound nature of who Jesus was/is (Prophet, Priest and King).

To my friends who do not choose to live out your faith in the Church and choose to read this, know that I am astonished by how quickly my community of faith can desert the One who called us in grace to a ministry of reconciliation and truth telling, turning to what I consider to be another gospel.   Many of the comments do not reflect the Good News of Jesus Christ nor the historical realities of who Jesus was.

I must confess I fear in sharing it, it will become yet one more excuse to dismiss.

I am seeking hard these days not be led by fear, so here is the story with all of it’s ugliness for you to see, read, hear and ponder.

And maybe if you are of the mind to pray to a God you don’t even believe in for healing to come for the sake of  men, women and children, both in Tent City and outside of it, needing to experience and understand what community is at such a time as this… please do.

Here is a link to the blog:

http://amoshouse.wordpress.com/2010/06/05/reflections-on-a-town-hall-meeting/#comments


“Compassion and a concern for social justice come form the nature of God as seen clearly in Exodus. This is indeed a challenge, for not only are we to hear the cry of those who are suffering in our day but we are also to act for their liberation whenever this is possible. Jesus’ instruction, ‘Be compassionate, as your Father is compassionate’ (Luke 6:36, NAB), takes us directly to prayer, for without God’s help we could never approach this depth of compassion and care.” -Free to Pray Free to Love, Olivia; pp. 105-106

Another way is possible in Nashville…

