So,  I have been carrying around two cameras this week. Yes, two cameras.

One is a 35 mm a friend from Nashville let me borrow about 4 years ago and it’s been about three years since I replaced it with the digital SLR. The other is a Canon Rebel another friend in Houston has allowed me to borrow during my sabbatical stay here.

The photographs I have shared have been a mixture of images produced by both cameras. Below is a collage of photographs taken with the 35mm.

I have been surprised by how much I have enjoyed the mystery and tapping into skills & lessons I often don’t have to refer to with the digital camera that does lots of the work for me.  The first couple of shots I found myself monkeying a lot with the camera, forgetting the little screen was not there. I’d have to wait, at least an hour, to see what flawed beauty found its way onto the 400 speed roll of 24 exposures tucked away in the camera.

Waiting… I have never been too good at that. Patience is not a virtue of mine.

When the 35mm is in my hand I find myself slowing down a bit, not taking one single moment or shot for granted and really receiving the time to think about what I am seeing & wanting to remember.

Today has been a day of slowing down, breathing deeply and practicing the art of seeing life and myself well.  I was encouraged to pause, articulate, release things hindering my vision and be still long enough to really listen to what new grace words God wanted me to hear.

I am thankful for the old 35mm. I am thankful for the joy, mystery, challenge, skill and pace it brings to my life. The space to breathe, really see and take in the vision of the mundane and extraordinary flawed beautiful world that surrounds me.

And I think to myself, what a wonderful world. (period)

May we all slow down enough to see, the flawed beautiful world that surrounds, and in seeing love and care for all of it with every ounce of our being.

I pray also that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which God has called you.

Ephesians 1:18

