Paradise –
I see flowers
from the cottage where I lie.
~Yaitsu’s death poem, 1807

My prayers are with Jennifer and all others whom have experienced the loss of a love one at the hand of death this day and over the past two weeks since I began my sabbatical. One too many of my friends have felt the sorrow of losing a mother or grandmother since I took my first sabbatical steps.

I am so thankful for the interruptions of emails and phone calls that have reminded me I am a part of a community bond together by the love of Christ, and there are times when the sabbath needs to be broken if just for 5 or 10 minutes to connect… touch… sit on the mourners bench with a friend… love.

There is a deep sense of gratitude today for the people I have met along the way, who have taught me how to love and who have loved me well. Mimi shined and loved her family very well. I know she will be missed and remembered well by many.

I am thankful for Mimi and the opportunities I had to feel the warmth of the light within her soul.

 

