I have always been uncomfortable with, and turned off by, the call for me to be the voice of the voiceless.

I mean we all have a voice, right?  We all may not be able to hear all of the voices in our local, national or global community or even be heard by everyone in our community, but I can tell you  the people I have met who live & belong to the communities that usually get the label of “the voiceless” have a voice and can speak their own stories– sing their own songs… and do.

I wonder if the problem is our hearing, those of us who sit in the center. Are our ears so stopped up with privilege, apathy, ignorance, self-righteousness, lack of awareness, fear and/or not knowing “the other” that our hearing is impaired and we fail to often do the difficult challenging uncomfortable work of listening?

This song reminds me of the power of the voice I have been given by God, and to tune my ears to hear the voices of those that are now at a distance. It is also pushing me this cold gray Wednesday morning to ponder these questions…

What does it take for us to hear well?

What does it take for us to help everyone know, and remind some, that they may be one voice in a million, but it is one of the few things no one can take away from them?

Sometimes all it takes is one voice.

(Check out my sister’s blog http://rouserantings.blogspot.com/2010/12/you-aint-taking-that-from-me.html powerful words from a love of words, God and people)

