Woke up this morning with plans of just sleeping most of this day away and starting the packing up of the room process. Life is about to get real hectic, and most moments of the day I don’t quite physically feel ready for it.

Well, as life would have it, the day had a different plan and a few Divine surprises and holy interruptions. One of the surprises was an invitation to the Over the Rhine concert Sunday night. As I begin to say “Good Bye” to Nashville for a while, I have been so thankful and a bit giddy for the art shaped ways friends here are choosing to see me off.

My giddiness this morning once receiving the invitation led me to hours of listening to Over the Rhine.

Brilliant. Beautiful. Soulful.

One of the songs I had on repeat for a bit was Born. It reminded me of the hard times that have given birth to some new life for me and others. I wanted to laugh, but I couldn’t. The music would not let me… today would not let me.

Born
(Bergquist/Detweiler)
recording: Drunkard’s Prayer

I was born to laugh
I learned to laugh through my tears
I was born to love
I’m gonna learn to love without fear

Pour me a glass of wine
Talk deep into the night
Who knows what we’ll find

Intuition, deja vu
The Holy Ghost haunting you
Whatever you got
I don’t mind

Put your elbows on the table
I’ll listen long as I am able
There’s nowhere I’d rather be

Secret fears, the supernatural
Thank God for this new laughter
Thank God the joke’s on me

We’ve seen the landfill rainbow
We’ve seen the junkyard of love
Baby it’s no place for you and me

I was born to laugh
I learned to laugh through my tears
I was born to love
I’m gonna learn to love without fear


