After the first couple of verses and movements he turned to me and said, “Have you ever thought about this song?”

Caught off guard I turned to him and said, “What do you mean?”

“I mean, have you ever listened to this song and really thought about it? He is loves us, like loves us now. Wow, He loves us. You know? That’s deep and freeing, right?”

I offered a courtesy smile as though we were on the same wavelength, while knowing in that particular moment I was not quite overwhelmed by the depth and freedom. Honestly, I always found the line “sloppy wet kiss” to be quite distracting and cheesy.

Needless to say, this morning was a bit different. My neighbor turning to me and asking the question, inviting me to enter into the moment of worship without judgment & critique but awe & wonder at what Love had inspired ushered me into a new space with God and the song.

As the song continued to unfold, the liturgical movements captured by imagination & heart and my mind received the invitation to think on the words I begin to feast on the same awesomeness.

It was freeing.


“How He Loves Us”

He is jealous for me Loves like a hurricane,
I am a tree
Bending beneath the weight of
His wind and mercy
When all of a sudden, I am unaware of these afflictions eclipsed by glory
and I realize just how beautiful You are and how great your affections are for me.


Oh, how He loves us so
Oh, how He loves us
How He loves us so.

Yeah, He loves us
Oh, how He loves us
Oh, how He loves us
Oh, how He loves.

We are His portion and
He is our prize,
Drawn to redemption
by the grace in His eyes
If grace is an ocean, we’re all sinking
So heaven meets earth like a sloppy wet kiss and my heart turns
violently inside of my chest
I don’t have time to maintain these regrets when I think about the way

He loves us,
Oh, how He loves us
Oh, how He loves us
OH, how He loves

He loves us,
Whoa, how He loves us
Whoa, how He loves us
Whoa, how He loves

