Well, 2011 was quite a year. It was a year composed of some major transitions, healing, many lessons I will definitely carry with me into 2012, an abundant amount of life-giving moments, new discoveries and joy.

It was good to and for me.

The last days of 2011 ended up being a perfect conclusion to the pages that had been written, as I welcomed the new 2012 chapter embracing change, believing in healing, loving with abandon and speaking my gratitude for each line of truth (the easy and the hard).

Here are a few things revealed to me the last days of December and first days of January that I carry with me into this new year:

*I have been gifted with an eye and I need to make it a point to sabbath with God, camera in hand, everyday.

I am a photographer.

*throw a football as often as possible

*I love cold days. Warm days are growing on me though.

*there is something comforting about being apart of a community where ALL are welcomed and when people say “I love you and there is nothing you can do about it”, and they mean it

Unconditional love and acceptance is a beautiful thing

*make it a practice to laugh as often as possible

*”listen to your life. see it for the fathomless mystery that it is. touch, taste, smell your way to the holy and hidden heart of it because in the last analysis all moments are key moments, and life itself is grace.” buechner

*relationships are best held with open hands

*be open

*The Wire is the best show EVER!

*Life is better in yoga pants

*travel is good for the soul

*risk more and express what you need & want, don’t live life with a bunch of “what ifs”

*”Follow your bliss and God will open doors for you where there were only walls.” Oprah

*The world is a beautiful place / to be born into / if you don’t mind some people dying / all the time / or maybe only starving / some of the time
/ which isn’t half bad / if it isn’t you. -Lawrence Ferlinghetti

Through art, creativity, storytelling, honesty and being present with people this year, I hope to co-create a truly beautiful place as I seek justice, love kindness and walk humbly with my God in community with people who teach me what it means to be God’s and through whom God’s transforming grace is at work in my life. Hopefully we can be vessels of grace and love for each other.

*love well. “But I always think that the best way to know God is to love many things.” Vincent Van Gogh

*we need to dance whenever we have the chance, especially if we are in the car with Ms. Ruby Mai

*Love is still in the business of healing

*be present in each moment, tomorrow has passed and who knows what the next moment will bring… enjoy the moment, don’t miss the beauty in the now

*get rid of ridiculous lists, delight on the art of knowing another in whatever shape the knowing comes

*friendship is a gift

*search time on YouTube every now and then is good for me, especially if it involves a viewing of “King Curtis”

*morning, mid-day or evening walks solo or with someone I can talk to freely and even embrace silence with are the best

*I love music. I love to sing. I need to do it more.

“Music and rhythm find their way into the secret places of the soul” Plato

*When words become unclear, I shall focus with photographs. When images become inadequate, I shall be content with silence. ~Ansel Adams

